Skip to content

Duckling

August 10, 2009

After nearly 2 1/4 years of ambivalence as to which parent he’d rather hang out with, Blur has suddenly decided that he and his mom need to be attached at the hip. While this is undeniably cute and sweet and flattering, it also makes getting stuff done pretty much impossible. WAHD had to take Blur out of the house several times yesterday (Sunday is always my busiest work day) because my little duckling kept barging into the office, drumming on the printer, pounding on the keyboard, and generally trying to capture my attention. Attempts to distract him with toys, games, balloons, and crayons proved futile. It was exhausting – not just for me, but for WAHD, too, because he always has things he needs to get done as well outside of changing diapers and giving baths. Sometimes, I envy families in which one person makes the money and one person manages the household. 

My weekends now are nothing like the  relaxing, do-nothing weekends I used to enjoy. Then, Saturdays and Sundays were all about sleep, eating, vegging out, running, and going on dates. Now, If I’m not actively parenting, I’m working. If I’m not working, I’m making grilled cheese sandwiches for lunch or playing cars or trying to figure out what it is, exactly, that Blur wants (he’s a little hard to understand sometimes). Dates are special occasions; vegging out happens only in my memories. 

Quality free time – on weekends or anytime else – is such a valuable and rare commodity for me now that I am a mom.  If I want time to myself, I either have to leave the house or make WAHD and Blur leave the house. And if I leave the house, I usually don’t know what to do with myself. I’m not much of a shopper, I hate movie theaters (especially alone), massages are too expensive to enjoy more than a couple of times a year, and my friends aren’t always available to entertain me. Usually, I’ll go to a coffee shop or the library and try to read, but more often than not, I end up thinking about WAHD and Blur and how I should really be hanging out with them. The invisible chain between me and Blur is truly permanent. I can’t just remove it for an afternoon.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 14, 2009 11:04 am

    Such a shame that we can’t appreciate the ease of life without kids before we have them, huh?

Leave a Reply

